History of the QClub
We are internationally recognized as the official club for Quimper and French faience collectors.
In February 1999, Lucy Williams and Katie Wiggins Sledge decided to start a club for collectors of Quimper faïence. After establishing its purpose and intent in celebrating all Quimper both old and new, the Q Club opened its membership to all interested collectors, dealers, and enthusiasts. Within the first three months, membership inquiries arrived from all over the world. Today, the Club has over 250 members in half-a-dozen countries and includes the leading authors, dealers, and collectors in the field among its members. The Club is incorporated as a 501(c)(4) nonprofit entity in Texas; the bylaws were revised in 2013.
The Quimper Club International logo was designed by Cathy Schermer. She has also created some commission pieces commemorating certain Club meetings.
City of Quimper
Quimper is the ancient capital of Cornouaille, Brittany’s most traditional region, and has a distinctive Breton Celtic character. Its name is the Breton word kemper (cognate to Welsh cymer), meaning "confluence." The town developed at the confluence of the rivers Le Steir and L'Odet. Shops and flags celebrate the region's Celtic heritage.
Quimper was originally settled during Roman times. By AD 495, the town had become a Bishopric. It subsequently became the capital of the counts of Cornouailles.
The town has a rustic atmosphere, with footbridges spanning the rivers that flow
The town's best known product is Quimper faience. It has been made here since 1690, using bold provincial designs of Jean-Baptiste Bousquet. The town’s eating establishments boast some of the best crêpes and cider in Brittany. The town has also been known for copper and bronze work, food items, galvanized ironware, hosiery, leather, paper and woolen goods.